Arctic Monkeys - Suck It And See - 33RPM

Arctic Monkeys

Suck It And See



Genre: Indie Rock
EAN: 5034202025818
Regular price €28,00
Available again in a mini gatefold sleeve including an 8-page booklet since 2022! The fourth studio album from 2011 of the band coming from Sheffield.

Light and airy, cinematic and yet intimate is the fourth Arctic Monkeys album "Suck It And See". The band recorded it at Sound City Studios in Los Angeles with their longtime producer and collaborator James Ford. The album has a summery pop feel and the typical feelgood sound of California winter sun and vitamin D out of season, which may be due to the fact that most of the tracks were recorded in January on the West Coast of the United States. In keeping with its pop orientation, "Suck It And See" is more carefully arranged than its predecessor "Humbug" and is full of songs that explore the trials and tribulations of sex and love with elemental imagery, astute lyrics and great pop-culture metaphors. The album is full of references to older rock 'n' roll classics ("you look like you've been for breakfast at the Heartbreak Hotel"), various soft drinks (Dandelion & Burdock, Postmix Lemonade) and 21st century pastimes (Laserquest)

Arctic Monkeys are Jamie Cook, Matt Helders, Nick O'Malley and Alex Turner. "Suck It And See" is their fourth album. It consists of twelve songs, including a reworked new version of "Piledriver Waltz" from Turner's soundtrack to the Richard Ayoade film "Submarine" (also released by Domino). The first single "Don't Sit Down 'Cause I've Moved Your Chair" is already available on May 27, 2011