Etta Jones - Don't Go To strangers - 33RPM

Etta Jones

Don't Go To strangers



Genre: Jazz
EAN: 8436559469265
Regular price €25,00

Classic jazz album that was originally released in 1960. The album features Jones' rich, soulful voice backed by a small ensemble of top-notch musicians, including saxophonist Benny Golson and trumpeter Joe Newman.

The album's title track, "Don't Go to Strangers," is a slow-burning ballad that showcases Jones' powerful vocal delivery and emotional depth. Other standout tracks include "If I Had You," a swinging up-tempo number, and "Something to Remember You By," a tender love song that highlights Jones' sensitive phrasing.

Throughout the album, Jones demonstrates her mastery of the jazz idiom, infusing each song with her own unique blend of blues, swing, and soul. Her voice is alternately sultry, smoky, and sweet, always conveying a deep sense of feeling and authenticity.

"Don't Go to Strangers" was a commercial and critical success upon its initial release and remains a beloved jazz classic to this day. The album showcases the timeless talent of Etta Jones and stands as a testament to her enduring legacy as one of the greatest jazz vocalists of all time.



  1. Yes Sir, That's My Baby
  2. Don't Go to Strangers
  3. I Love Paris
  4. Fine and Mellow
  5. Where or When
  6. If I Had You
  7. On the Street Where You Live
  8. Something to Remember You By
  9. Bye Bye Blackbird
  10. All the Way
  11. Say It Isn't So
  12. My Gentleman Friend (bonus track on some editions)