Tommy Guerrero - Loose Grooves & Bastard Blues - 33RPM

Tommy Guerrero

Loose Grooves & Bastard Blues


Be With Records

Genre: Downtempo
EAN: 4251804144421
Regular price €34,00

 Loose Grooves & Bastard Blues is Tommy Guerrero’s sublime debut. Of this beloved masterpiece, the legendary skater himself says: “my 1st album. It was never meant to be released. I was just recording for the fun of it.. still my fave. Oh so naive…” And you know what? It’s definitely Be With’s fave too. An astonishingly great record. A chill, blissful, deeply moving album, it was rightly garlanded as an instant classic.

A laidback, fusionistic ride replete with loopy drum tracks underpinning Tommy’s trademark reflective guitar stylings, Loose Grooves & Bastard Blues remains powerfully evergreen. Originally released in 1997, there’s elements of jazz, trip hop, rock and downtempo groove. All shot through with a heavy dose of soul. Thirteen tracks of lo-fi (mostly) instrumental freshness fused with Cuban, Latin and blues, it’s a must for fans of Money Mark, J Dilla, RJD2, DJ Shadow and Pete Rock. As ever with Tommy’s records, the title sums up the music contained within most aptly. And writing about his songs, his vibes, is one of the trickier things to do, it has to be said. It’s just all gorgeous!


1 B.W.s Blues
2 So Blue It's Black
3 Keep On Keepin On
4 Azule
5 Black Sheep Blues
6 30
7 Pollo Caliente
8 Never
9 Solow
10 Introspection Section
11 Gone
12 In My Head
13 Soul Miner